Certified Data Centre Specialist

Certified Data Centre Specialist


The Certified Data Centre Specialist (CDCS) will enable attendees to be a compatible communication partner with suppliers and they will be able to verify offers provided by vendors for correctness, effectiveness and efficiency. CDCS is a must have certification for professional data centre managers and personnel. CDCS is a pre-requisite for individuals wishing to achieve the CDCE status. EPI and EXIN work together with EXIN Accredited Training Providers (ATP’s) on the EPI Data Center certificates. Therefore you can only book your EPI exams at the official EXIN ATP’s. To find an EPI-Trainer close to you click the button 'Find a Training Provider' above this article.


Target group

The primary audience for this course is an IT, facilities or Data Centre Operations professional working in and around the data centre and having the responsibility to achieve and improve hi-availability and manageability of the Data Centre.



The Certified Data Centre Specialist exam is the next step after the Certified Data Centre Professional exam. After completion of the course, the attendee will for example be able to discuss in great level of detail requirements with vendors, suppliers and contractors to ensure they meet the customers’ requirements and understand Tier-levels for both the data centre design/setup as well as maintenance tier levels. Certification is valid for a three years period after which the student needs to re-certify.


e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

The mapping of this certificate against the e-Competence Framework.


 e-CF Area   e-Competence e-1 e-2 e-3 e-4 e-5
PLAN A.9. Innovating          
BUILD B.2. Component Integration          
B.3. Testing          
B.4. Solution Deployment          
B.6. Systems Engineering          
MANAGE E.3. Risk Management          
E.6. ICT Quality Management          
E.8. Information Security Management          

Legend for coverage

  General - The competence is covered at the level indicated
  Partial - The competence is covered to some extent
  Superficial - Relevant knowledge is covered to some extent
  The competence level is available in the framework
  The competence level is not available in the framework



Participants must hold a valid CDCP certificate in order to be able to register for the CDCS training. Evidence of training of CDCS® by an EXIN accredited training provider.


Exam content

-       Data Centre Design / Life Cycle Overview

-       Tier Levels

-       Building Considerations & Standards

-       Advanced Raised Floor & Suspended Ceiling

-       Advanced Power

-       Advanced Electro Magnetic Fields

-       Advanced Cooling

-       Advanced Fire Protection

-       Cable Management

-       Environmental Specifications

-       Data Centre Efficiency


Exam Details

  • Number of questions: 


  • Pass mark:

75% (45 out of 60)

  • Open book exam:


  • Use of electronic devices permitted during the exam:



This exam is available in these languages:

  • English
  • Japanese
  • Latin American Spanish
Interested in another language? Please contact us
Print print Follow us facebook twitter linkedin youtube
Open sitemap

EXIN International

Arthur van Schendelstraat 650


The Netherlands


Contact »