EXIN ITAMOrg Software Asset Management Specialist

EXIN ITAMOrg Software Asset Management Specialist


Transparent licensing is important for every organization. It is about aligning IT Service Management best practices together with Software Asset Management best practices, implementing Software Asset Management lifecycle processes and showing how IT Service Management can support SAM lifecycle to create transparent licensing. The purpose of the certification is to demonstrate knowledge on best practice and use of Software Asset Management in the challenges and variables that Software Asset Managers face on an everyday basis. The scope includes but is not limited to software license management.


EXIN Software Asset Management Specialist certifies a candidate’s understanding of how ISO 19770-1 and IT Service Management best practice relates to everyday use of software asset management, software tags, software piracy, control of the licenses and the legislation and organizational issues that saturates many businesses. ISO 19770 distinguishes 4 levels of control:

Tier 1 – trustworthy data

Tier 2 – practical management

Tier 3 – operational integration

Tier 4 – full ISO/IEC SAM conformance



The certificate Software Asset Management Specialist is part of the EXIN qualification program and has been developed in cooperation with international experts in the field.


e-Competence Framework (e-CF)

The mapping of this certificate against the e-Competence Framework.


 e-CF Area   e-Competence e-1 e-2 e-3 e-4 e-5
RUN A.4. Product / Service Planning          
B.5. Documentation Production          
D.4. Purchasing          
   D.8. Contract Management          
MANAGE E.4. Relationship Management          
E.5. Process Improvement          
E.6. ICT Quality Management          
E.8. Information Security Management          

Legend for coverage

  General - The competence is covered at the level indicated
  Partial - The competence is covered to some extent
  Superficial - Relevant knowledge is covered to some extent
  The competence level is available in the framework
  The competence level is not available in the framework


Target group

Software Asset Management Specialist is intended for Software Asset Management professionals with an understanding of IT Asset Management. Recommended is at least three months of experience in all phases of Software Asset Management, an understanding of IT Service Management best practice, and a general understanding of IT and processes.


Specific roles/responsibilities primarily attending:

  • Procurement Manager
  • SAM program Manager
  • Contract Manager
  • Software Asset Manager
  • IT Asset Manager
  • License Manager


Requirements for certification

  • An accredited training Software Asset Management Specialist.
  • Pass the related EXIN exam.


Examination details

Examination type:                Computer-based or paper-based multiple-choice questions

Number of questions:           40

Pass mark:                           65%

Open book/notes:                 No

Electronic equipment/aides permitted: No

Time allotted for examination: 90 minutes


The Rules and Regulations for EXIN’s examinations apply to this exam.


This exam is available in these languages:

  • English
Interested in another language? Please contact us

Take this exam right now!

Tell me more

About ITAMOrg


ITAMOrg is a fast-growing global membership organization of IT Asset Management Professionals. With the mission to develop and strengthen the awareness & competencies in IT Asset Management best practices, ITAMOrg offers certified ITAM education. Furthermore, ITAMOrg connects stakeholders in the ITAM ecosystem through knowledge sharing and networking for ITAM Professionals from both users and suppliers of IT in order to enable transparency within the industry. Read more >>

Print print Follow us facebook twitter linkedin youtube
Open sitemap

EXIN International

Arthur van Schendelstraat 650


The Netherlands


Contact »