3 Layers of SIAM Explained

In earlier blog posts, we explained the meaning of Service Integration and Management (SIAM) and its advantages. Today we want to deepen your knowledge. Each SIAM ecosystem has 3 layers. What are these layers, what is their role, and how can you imagine such a layer in a practical scenario?

What is SIAM?

As you know now, SIAM is an approach to managing multiple suppliers of businesses as well as IT services. SIAM integrates them to provide a single, business-facing IT organization. It aims at seamlessly integrating interdependent services from various internal and external service providers into end-to-end services to meet business requirements. There are 3 layers in a SIAM ecosystem:

  1. Customer Organization
  2. Service Integrator
  3. Service Provider(s)

Each layer has a role in the end-to-end management of services and the delivery of maximum value. Let’s get a deeper insight into these layers.

What is the Customer Organization Layer?

This layer is the most simple to explain. It is the organization that is making the transition to the SIAM model. Customer organizations typically contain business units such as Human Resources, Finance, Sales, and their own internal IT Staff. They also have their own customers who use their products and services.

In this blogpost, let’s call the customer organization Father Christmas & Co., the manufacturer of business-to-business Christmas gifts.

What is the Service Integrator Layer?

SIAM introduces the concept of a service integrator. This layer makes sure that all service providers are contributing to the end-to-end service.  The Service Integrator Layer can be provided by one or more organizations, including the customer organization.

In our example, Father Christmas & Co. has chosen to take this task into their own hands. The service integration is the responsibility of the Incident Manager, Problem Manager, and Change Manager at Father Christmas, among others.

What is the Service Provider Layer?

In a SIAM ecosystem, there are multiple service providers. Each service provider is responsible for the delivery of one or more services (or service elements) to the customer. They are responsible for managing the products and technologies used to deliver its contracted or agreed services and operating its own processes.

In our example, DeskTop Inc. provides the desktop services for Father Christmas & Co., Data Center International provides the data center, and John McCloud & Sons provides the cloud services.


Recently, BCS and EXIN conducted a survey about the use of SIAM in organizations. To read the fascinating results, click here.

EXIN understands the growing demand for training and certification on SIAM. The SIAM certification offered by EXIN and BCS is vendor-neutral, recognized worldwide, and based on the e-Competence Framework. This is the only SIAM certification program available worldwide.

It provides practitioners with the opportunity to differentiate themselves in the marketplace. There are many certified ITSM professionals these days, but few of them have specific skills in the area of service integration. SIAM certification helps organizations reduce costs and improves the quality of their services which result in improved customer satisfaction and loyalty.