Career Path

EXIN Digital Transformation Officer

The EXIN Digital Transformation Officer certification provides the right knowledge and skills for professionals who wish to become or already are a Digital Transformation Officer and want to achieve the appropriate international recognition. ‘Business as usual’ is a big ask when your organization is trying to respond to an ever-changing digital environment. This is where a Digital Transformation Officer (DTO) can make the difference between a company meeting the challenges of this transformation head-on or an organization being left behind in the race to utilize digitization.

Get certified
Professionals will be able to use and apply the knowledge and skills acquired during the career path and put them into practice when taking up the role of Digital Transformation Officer. The combination of Artificial Intelligence, Blockchain, Cloud Computing, and VeriSM or Agile Business will provide professionals with the theoretical knowledge of key topics surrounding Digital Transformation and how to drive Digital Transformation in their organization.

Certification information

Digital Transformation Officers are often in charge of projects and initiatives that aim to maximize the opportunities available by embracing new digital channels, technologies, or products. The role of a DTO is varied and challenging which keeps it interesting. Digital Transformation Officers, sometimes also known as Chief Digital Officers, usually have a very important role in determining the digital strategy within their organization. There are a number of different roles appearing that focus on leading transformation including the chief digital officer, chief transformation officer, and chief change officer. Each of these roles is a response to the need for someone to respond quickly to changing customer and market demands.

While ‘going digital’ is a major undertaking, assuring the delivery of business services that are always available and always working is what bonds the customer to the organization over time. (Netscout)

This certification is ideal for professionals looking to become a Digital Transformation Officer, Head of Digital, or other digital transformation focused roles. This makes it ideal for professionals who are looking to drive Digital Transformation initiatives in their organization but would like more support and direction in their career development to ensure they can do so successfully. As the certifications can be taken one by one, professionals can work towards becoming an EXIN Digital Transformation Officer over a longer period of time. It is especially well suited to professionals who already have one of the certifications required as they then only have to attain the other certifications in the career path to receive the EXIN Digital Transformation Officer certification.

EXIN Digital Transformation Officer Badge

Become an EXIN Digital Transformation Officer

Where traditionally departments worked in silos and each generated value for the business in their own way, the Digital Transformation Officer needs to rise above these silos to unit these departments in working towards a common goal. The goal of focusing on what the customer needs and fulfilling that need as soon as possible.
EXIN Digital Transformation Officer visual

Career Path Structure

For the first part of the Digital Transformation Officer certification, you need to take the following exams:

  1. EXIN BCS Artificial Intelligence Foundation;
  2. EXIN Blockchain Foundation;
  3. EXIN Cloud Computing Foundation.

Completing the three certifications will provide you with the right knowledge of digital technologies and trends to build up and integrate more advanced management practices at the Specialist level.

EXIN BCS Artificial Intelligence Foundation

EXIN BCS Artificial Intelligence Foundation

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is a methodology for using a non-human system to learn from experience and imitate human intelligent behavior. The EXIN BCS Artificial Intelligence Foundation certification tests a candidate’s knowledge and understanding of the terminology and general principles of AI.

EXIN Blockchain Foundation

EXIN Blockchain Foundation

The EXIN Blockchain Foundation certification validates a professional’s knowledge about blockchain as a ledger with potential as a worldwide decentralized record for the registration, inventory, and transfer of assets.

EXIN Cloud Computing Foundation

EXIN Cloud Computing Foundation

EXIN Cloud Computing Foundation is a certification that tests candidates on the basics of Cloud Computing. This vendor-neutral qualification includes some technical knowledge and looks at the general management aspects of Cloud Computing.

Lastly, to complete your Digital Transformation Officer certification, you need to successfully pass the VeriSM™ Professional or EXIN Agile Business Professional exam. This will give you a broad understanding of modern agile service management practices.

VeriSM™ Professional

VeriSM™ Professional

The VeriSM™ Professional certificate is relevant for professionals operating in organizations that have the ambition to digitalize.

EXIN Agile Business Professional

EXIN Agile Business Professional

The EXIN Agile Business Professional certification covers the knowledge and skills needed for applying the Agile principles and mindset across the business. EXIN Agile Business Professional certified staff members promote Agile ways of thinking and working across all areas of the organization, including production, operation and supporting processes.

EXIN Digital Transformation Officer badge

How do I become an EXIN Digital Transformation Officer?

After completing the three required certifications, you will automatically be awarded the EXIN Digital Transformation Officer certification. To get started, please go to the Get Certified tool and select the certification you wish to attain first. If you would like to find out more information, please contact our support team.


You can check on this file the exceptions that can be used to achieve this EXIN Career Path certification. Note that only one exception can be applied for each of the EXIN Career Path certifications.