How to Deploy SIAM

Many organizations are moving towards an environment where services are sourced from several service providers rather than just one. This phenomenon is called Service Integration and Management (SIAM). Companies that want to take advantage of the benefits of SIAM should make their decisions after careful deliberation. This blog will offer a roadmap for the implementation of SIAM.

But First, Why SIAM?

SIAM is an approach to managing multiple suppliers of business as well as IT services. SIAM integrates them to provide a single, business-facing IT organization. It aims at seamlessly integrating interdependent services from various internal and external service providers into end-to-end services to meet business requirements. SIAM has benefits such as the avoidance of costly, vendor lock-in. It allows businesses to spread risk, get tailor-made services, all while remaining flexible as the business environment changes.

4 Stages in the SIAM Roadmap

The authoritative SIAM Foundation Body of Knowledge gives a comprehensive overview of how to deploy SIAM in your organization. The Body of Knowledge describes 4 stages in the SIAM roadmap:

  1. Discovery and strategy
  2. Plan and build
  3. Implement
  4. Run and improve

1. Discovery and Strategy Stage

This stage initiates the SIAM transformation project, formulates key strategies, and maps your organization’s current situation. Why is this stage important? In the first place, it enables the organization to determine what it intends to source internally and what externally. In the second place, it enables the organization to consider any additional skills and resources that may be required.

2. Plan and Build Stage

This stage builds on the outputs from the discovery and strategy stage to complete the design for SIAM and create the plans for the transformation. During this stage, all plans and approvals are put in place before the implement stage begins.

3. Implement Stage

The objective of this stage is to manage the transition from the organization’s current state to the desired future state. At the end of this stage, the new SIAM model will be in place and in use.

4. Run and Improve Stage

The objectives of this stage are to manage the SIAM model, day-to-day service delivery, processes, teams, and tools, and the continual improvement of all activities. The activities in this stage focus on providing consistent, guaranteed service outcomes to the business.



EXIN understands the growing demand for training and certification on SIAM. The SIAM certification offered by EXIN and BCS is vendor-neutral, recognized worldwide, and based on the e-Competence Framework. This is the only SIAM certification program available worldwide.

It provides practitioners with the opportunity to differentiate themselves in the marketplace. There are many certified ITSM professionals these days, but few of them have specific skills in the area of service integration. SIAM certification helps organizations reduce costs and improves the quality of their services which result in improved customer satisfaction and loyalty.