ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. ITIL is a framework of IT Service Management practices that focuses on business and IT integration.

Topics covered by ITIL

ITIL covers a wide range of topics which are divided according to the 5 different parts of the service lifecycle:

Scheme of ITIL topics


Photo of computers from the 80's.


The Information Technology Infrastructure Library was originally created back in the 1980s as a collection of books each volume of which covered a specific IT Service Management practice. Between 1986 and 1996 this collection grew to over 30 volumes. During 2000 and 2001 these volumes were consolidated into 9 sets which grouped related topics.

Related certifications

EXIN SIAM™ Foundation

EXIN SIAM™ Foundation tests a candidate’s knowledge and understanding of the terminology and the core principles of SIAM. This certification covers su...

VeriSM™ Foundation

VeriSM™ Foundation is suitable both for professionals who are new to Service Management as well as those already working within Service Management.

EXIN DevOps Foundation

This EXIN DevOps Foundation certification has been designed to give IT and business professionals basic knowledge and understanding of DevOps.

Please note – this page has been created to provide background information about topics and terms you may come across on the EXIN website. It is in no way meant as official study material or a reflection of exam contents.